Web Content Viewer

Who are Mandatory Reporters?

Image shows a medical professional sitting at her computer and talking on the phone.

Ohio law requires certain professionals to report abuse or evidence of abuse.  These professionals may also be referred to as “mandatory reporters.” According to the Ohio Revised Code (ORC 5101.63), the following classes of individuals are mandatory reporters in Ohio:

  • Attorneys who practice law in Ohio;
  • Individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, or podiatric medicine and surgery;
  • Individuals licensed as a chiropractor, dentist, psychologist, pharmacist, registered nurse, or licensed practical nurse;
  • Individuals licensed as a social worker, independent social worker, professional counselor, professional clinical counselor, marriage and family therapist, or independent marriage and family therapist;
  • Individuals holding a certificate to practice as a dialysis technician;
  • Employees of a home health agency, outpatient health facility, hospital, public hospital, or community mental health agency;
  • Employees of a nursing home or residential care facility;
  • Employees of a residential facility licensed under section Ohio Revised Code (ORC 5119.22) that provides accommodations, supervision, and personal care services for three to sixteen unrelated adults;
  • Employees of a health department operated by the board of health of a city or general health district or the authority having the duties of a board of health;
  • Agents of a county humane society
  • Firefighters for lawfully constituted fire departments;
  • Ambulance drivers for emergency medical service organizations;
  • First responders, emergency medical technician-basic, emergency medical technician-intermediate, or paramedic;
  • Officials employed by a local building department to conduct inspections of houses and other residential buildings;
  • Peace officers;
  • Coroners;
  • Members of the clergy;
  • Certified public accountants or anyone registered under that chapter as a public accountant;
  • Licensed real estate brokers or real estate salespersons;
  • Notary publics (appointed and commissioned);
  • Employee of a bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, or credit union organized under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;
  • Dealers, investment advisers, salespersons, or investment advisor representatives;
  • Financial planners accredited by a national accreditation agency;
  • Senior service providers other than representatives of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman.